Like most states, California car insurance laws requires its drivers to carry proof of financial responsibility for the vehicles they own and drive. For most people, this means getting an auto insurance policy. The world of insurance is full of technical jargon and fine print, which is why finding and maintaining an affordable policy can be a confusing process. For example, wondering if liability insurance is required in California is common. Some people even opt to get car insurance without a car if they drive a vehicle they don’t own often. However, you may not be aware of this because of how convoluted insurance feels. Once you know the laws and regulations of your state, though, you can compare quotes from providers and find a policy that suits you and your lifestyle. Read on to learn about California’s insurance laws and requirements in this brief overview.
Minimum Liability Requirements in California
One of the most important California car insurance laws is the requirement to have a liability policy on your car, which is different from other types of auto insurance. If you cause a car accident, liability insurance compensates other drivers, passengers, or pedestrians involved in the incident. All California drivers must have liability coverage on their auto insurance policy. This coverage must meet the minimum requirements of $15,000 for injury or death to one person, $30,000 for injury or death to multiple people, or $5,000 for property damage. Liability insurance doesn’t cover you or your family, but you can purchase medical payment coverage or physical damage coverage with your policy to cover these expenses.
California’s “Fault” System for Car Accidents
In California, drivers are financially responsible for the consequences of a car accident they cause. If you face losses from an accident that was someone else’s fault, you can seek compensation for your medical bills, property damage, and more through your own insurance coverage, through the other driver’s insurance, or through a personal injury lawsuit. Compare this to no-fault states, where drivers must first turn to their own insurance policies for compensation no matter who caused the accident.
Getting the Best Insurance in California
Understanding California’s insurance laws and requirements is only the first step to finding the coverage you need. All insurance providers offer different rates based on the coverages you want, the discounts you qualify for, and other details. That’s why it’s a good idea to compare quotes for different policies and coverages. If you need the best car insurance in Southern California, Saferoad Insurance is your friend. We’ll help you understand your requirements and find a policy that fits your needs, budget, and lifestyle. Browse our blogs to learn more about California car insurance laws.